Keep Your Record Clean After A Domestic Violence Accusation
Are you fighting domestic violence charges in Mississippi? You need a qualified criminal defense attorney by your side. Contact Lauren E. Kelley.
Lauren E. Kelley, Attorney at Law, right away – Lauren E. Kelley represents clients throughout the region who are facing serious domestic assault charges.
3 Facts About Mississippi Domestic Violence Law
You should always know what to expect when you’re building your criminal defense. If you’ve been charged with domestic violence, here are three important facts to keep in mind:
- The state of Mississippi classifies domestic violence charges as either simple domestic assault or aggravated domestic assault. Many factors determine these charges, such as weapons involved and the level of injury sustained.
- Penalties for domestic assault conviction range from $500 in fines and up to 20 years in jail. Sentencing depends on the number of previous convictions and the severity of the current charges.
- If you’re convicted of domestic assault, you could find it difficult to secure employment. This conviction on your record can also threaten your parental rights in a child custody battle.
Sit down with Lauren E. Kelley, Attorney at Law, today to discuss the specifics of your case. With her years of experience as a domestic violence attorney, she can help you build the strongest defense possible.